Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
...[It] is my firm belief that all religions aim at making people better human beings and that, despite philosophical differences, some of them fundamental, they all aim at helping humanity to find happiness.
― Dalai Lama XIV, Freedom in Exile: The Autobiography of the Dalai Lama
World Religions General Reference
Other Portals and Guides to Open Access Resources
Religious Studies Web Guide (University of Calgary)
This web site, in existence since 1995, focuses on free (open-access) internet resources ( bibliographies/indexes, library and archive catalogues, dictionaries/encyclopedias, e-texts and journals) supporting the academic study of religion. It is compiled by Cheryl Adams, Library of Congress and Saundra Lipton, University of Calgary Library.
Internet for Religious Studies
"Internet for Religious Studies is a free online tutorial to help university students develop their Internet research skills."
Pew Research Center - Religion & Public Life
Provides a portal into public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research related to religion.
Voice of the Shuttle Religious Studies
The "religious" section of a long-standing humanities web guide.
Virtual Religion Index
"...analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites to speed research. Hyperlinks are provided not only to homepages but to major directories & documents within." Last updated 08/2017.
World-Wide Religious News
"WorldWide Religious News is a non-profit service to provide the international academic and legal community (as well as various government agencies) with up to date religious news from around the world. WWRN was initiated with the goal of promoting religious freedom and tolerance."
"Adherents.com is a growing collection of over 43,870 adherent statistics and religious geography citations: references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc. Basically, researchers can use this site to answer such questions as 'How many Lutherans live in Wisconsin?,' 'What are the major religions of India?,' or 'What percentage of the world is Muslim?'"
Barna Research Online
"Barna Research Group, Ltd. (BRG) is a full-service marketing research company located in Ventura, California. BRG has been providing information and analysis regarding cultural trends and the Christian Church since 1984."
Country Studies (Library of Congress)
Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.
Database of Religious History
The DRH is a massive, standardized, searchable encyclopedia of the current best scholarly opinion on historical religious traditions. . . . It allows users to instantly gain an overview of the state of scholarly opinion and access powerful, built-in analytic and data visualization tools.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society
"The Encyclopedia of Religion and Society marks a unique venture in that it attempts to bring together in a single-volume compendium a state-of-the-art summary of the insights gained by the principal social sciences of religion: anthropology, psychology, and sociology. To do so is to take, admittedly, a "one-sided" approach to the religion-and-society nexus. One could perhaps consider an alternative posture, more ethical in nature-namely, one that considers what religions think about society. This would really be an encyclopedia of religious social ethics, and it is not within the scope of this project."
An index to periodicals in religion and theology held by the University of Tűbingen Library; includes Festschriften.
Insights into Religion
"Insights into Religion is dedicated to promoting the work and research of over twenty-five websites of religion institutes, programs and projects related to initiatives of the Religion Division of Lilly Endowment, Inc. These sites provide the clergy, lay leaders and the public with: access to research on religion; reflections on faith and ministry; observations on congregational life; commentary on spiritual practices; perspectives on religious vocations; information on theological education; and strategies for leadership development."
"...a strong foundation of knowledge in world religions is essential to understanding one another and our world. You’ll find that our library of study guides, prayers, devotionals, and reference documents offer credible and balanced coverage of the world’s most prominent faiths, including Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Judaism, Islam, and Taoism."
Overview of World Religions
Maintained by the Division of Religion and Philosophy, University of Cumbria, the OWR provides brief articles on world religion organized by tradition and geographical region.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.