Websites on Religion: Islam

Filter search results for OA articles.

Filter search results for OA articles.

The Association of Muslim Chaplains (AMC) supports the professional development of Muslims who provide spiritual care as chaplains in communities and in public/private institutions in the United States, while promoting the advancement of the field of Islamic Chaplaincy.

"The Center for Islamic Sciences (CIS) is dedicated to the promotion of research and diffusion of knowledge on all aspects of Islam. CIS encourages a creative exploration of natural and human sciences from the Islamic worldview, critical integration of contemporary disciplines into the framework of traditional Islamic thought and learning, and a renewed and rigorous link with the intellectual tradition of Islam. CIS supports activities aimed at enhancing our religious and scientific understanding of nature and the human condition."

The Hurma Project is committed to upholding the sacred inviolability of each person who is present in Muslim spaces by elucidating the special responsibilities of those holding power and authority and by educating those who are vulnerable about their God-given dignity and rights. The Hurma Project was founded in response to sexual and spiritual abuse scandals involving Muslims in positions of authority.

The Institute for Social Policy and Understanding (ISPU) was founded in 2002 as a research institution seeking to develop objective, solution-oriented research about challenges and opportunities facing American Muslims.

The Islamophobia Studies Center is an educational-not-for-profit research organization dedicated to countering the presence of Islamophobia in society through the use of applied research, civic engagement, education, and global classrooms.

"The Macdonald Center challenges scholars, students, the media, and the general public to move beyond stereotypes and develop an accurate awareness and appreciation of Islamic religion, law and culture. It is committed to the premise that through intensive study and academically guided dialogue, mutual respect and cooperation between Muslims and Christians can and must develop."

MuslimARC is a faith-based human rights education organization. Their mission is to provide racial justice education and resources to advance racial justice. The organization creates spaces to learn and develop racial equity, connect multifaith and multiracial networks using digital media, dialogue and storytelling, and cultivates solutions for racial justice through research, curriculum development, and strategic planning.

The Muslim Wellness Foundation (MWF) is an organization established in 2011 to reduce stigma associated with mental illness, addiction and trauma in the American Muslim community through dialogue, education and training.

Encyclopaedia Iranica benefits not only those who are interested in Persian life and culture but also students, specialists, and the educated general reader interested in a variety of academic disciplines. The disciplines represented include, but are not confined to: anthropology, archaeology, geography, art history, ethnology, sociology, economics, history of religion, philosophy, mysticism, history of science and medicine, Islamic history, botany, zoology, folklore, development of agriculture and industry, political science, international relations, and diplomatic history.

The Integrated Encyclopedia of the Qurʾān (IEQ) draws on a wide range of traditional Muslim sources to present all concepts, places, persons, events, and things mentioned in the Qur'an. The encyclopedia is still in the process of being developed.

Edward William Lane's Arabic-English Lexicon is considered one of the best Arabic-English lexicons available.

"...an annotated linguistic resource which shows the Arabic grammar, syntax and morphology for each word in the Holy Quran. The corpus provides three levels of analysis: morphological annotation, a syntactic treebank and a semantic ontology."

"A vast collection of information that addresses Shi'a/Sunni inter-school related issues. An effort of the Ahlul Bayt Digital Islamic Library Project Team"

"...a completely free, non-profit website providing access to the largest and greatest online collection of Qur’anic Commentary (tafsir or tafseer), translation, recitation and essential resources in the world." Arabic and English commentaries covering all seven schools of Islamic law.

One of the biggest collections of Islamic online books. Available in numerous international languages to suit Muslim readers worldwide.

A letter from Muslim to Christian leaders, encouraging interreligious dialogue.

Access major Sunni hadith collections such as Bukhari, Muslim, Malik's Muwatta, Shama'il Tirmidhi, Abu Dawud, etc.

Arabic text and audio recordings of the Qur'an. Includes a large number of modern language translations.

"The Hadith of the Prophet Muhammad (صلى الله عليه و سلم) at your fingertips" Includes English and Urdu translations along with Arabic text.

A commentary on the Qur'an by the Shi'i scholar `Allamah al-Sayyid Muḥammad Ḥusayn Tabataba’i (d. 1981).

"Our mission in the Tanzil project is to produce a standard Unicode Quran text and serve as a reliable source for this standard text on the web." Searchable Arabic text with multiple modern translations.

Assembles information on open access material relating to the Middle East.

Al-Islam.org is created and maintained by the Ahlul Bayt Digital Islamic Library Project (DILP). The organization's objectives are to digitize and present on the internet quality Islamic resources, related to the history, law, practice, and society of the Islamic religion and the Muslim peoples, with particular emphasis on Twelver Shia Islamic school of thought.

"The Bridge Initiative is a multi-year research project on Islamophobia housed in Georgetown University. The Bridge Initiative aims to disseminate original and accessible research, offers engaging analysis and commentary on contemporary issues, and hosts a wide repository of educational resources to inform the general public about Islamophobia."

This website is a platform for bringing together and putting forward the different elements of Critical Muslim Studies as a field of thought and study. Critical Muslim Studies is not confined to a single discipline, or scholarly work, or methodological approach. It is an epistemological orientation that starts from the idea that the hierarchy between the west and the non-west is no longer assured. Among its themes, it includes a critique of Eurocentrism and positivism and an engagement with decolonial and postcolonial thinking.

"This Islamic Studies website covers the areas of Islam, Arabic, and Religion (focusing on Western religions). It is particularly intended to be of use for students and teachers at all levels, as well for members of the general public who wish to get a non-polemical view of Islam (including Sunni Islam, Shi'ism, and Sufism) and to a lesser extent of Judaism and Christianity." Maintained by Alan Godlas of the University of Georgia

The Islamic Medical and Scientific Ethics (IMSE) collection comprises a wide range of resources that cover the broad spectrum of Islamic literature on biomedical ethics. The collection reflects the growing body of literature on the theme of Islamic bioethics, which covers both medical ethics in the traditional sense and also ethics in the life sciences in general. The scope of the collections includes both historical sources and also modern and contemporary sources which focus on both Islamic normative thought on the relevant issues, and also modern studies that focus on the application of bioethical standards for Muslim populations.

"A digital collection of Islamic manuscripts, published texts, and maps from across Harvard's libraries and museums."

This Reading Resource Pack was developed by researchers from the Global Justice Program at the Othering & Belonging Institute at UC Berkeley, as part of its larger project of documenting and countering Islamophobia.

Maydan is an online publication of Ali Vural Ak Center for Global Islamic Studies at George Mason University, offering expert analysis on a wide variety of issues in the field of Islamic Studies for academic and public audiences alike, and serving as a resource hub and a platform for informed conversation, featuring original articles and visual media from diverse perspectives.

The Muftiships Web Archive preserves the websites of Muftis and leading jurists from the Islamic world. These websites cover the responses of leading judicial authorities to current events in their respective countries (and in some cases well beyond). In addition to the content, the websites illustrate the manner in which these authorities engage with their public, and the ways in which Islamic law is administered in the digital age.

Blog that also contains links to scholarly publications regarding Islam, human rights, Shari'a, etc.

Sapelo Square intervenes in the marginalization and erasure of Black Muslims in the public square by building an online forum that places Black Muslims at the center. Their mission is to celebrate and analyze the experiences of Black Muslims in the United States to create new understandings of who they are, what they have done, and why that matters.

Explore the lives of men and women in the Muslim world – from the sixteenth century to now – through their autobiographical and travel writings. The authors range from scholars, saints and socio-religious reformers to princes, bureaucrats, nationalists, educators, writers and actors. The archive has a special focus on travel writing by Muslim women. A a companion website to the book Veiled Voyagers: Travel Writing by Muslim Women (Indiana University Press, forthcoming).

"Archnet is a globally-accessible, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. Archnet’s mission is to provide ready access to unique visual and textual material to facilitate teaching, scholarship, and professional work of high quality. Officially launched in 2002 as a partnership between the Aga Khan Trust for Culture and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Archnet has since evolved into the largest open, online architectural library with a focus on Muslim cultures."

The Islamic Painted Page is a free database of Persian, Ottoman, Arab and Mughal paintings, illuminations,
decorated Qur'an pages, and book bindings from over 310 collections worldwide.

The Manuscripts of the Muslim World is an attempt to digitize ‘hidden’ Islamicate manuscripts at Columbia University, the Free Library of Philadelphia, and the University of Pennsylvania.

This project is curated by Dr. Kayla Renée Wheeler and was inspired by Prof. Najeeba Syeed, #BlackInMSA, and Muslim ARC. The goal of this project is to provide teachers, professors, researchers, journalists, and people interested in learning more about Islam with resources on Black Muslims to promote a more inclusive approach to the study of Islam.

Resource for teaching and learning about anti-Muslim racism in the United States. This syllabus was built by an interdisciplinary team of faculty around the country such as Dr. Su’ad Abdul Khabeer (University of Michigan), Dr. Arshad Ali (Georgetown University), Dr. Evelyn Alsultany (University of Michigan), Dr. Sohail Daulatzai (University of California, Irvine), Dr. Lara Deeb (Scripps College), Dr. Carol Fadda (Syracuse University), Dr. Zareena Grewal (Yale University), Dr. Juliane Hammer (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), Dr. Nadine Naber (University of Illinois at Chicago), and Dr. Junaid Rana (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign).