Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
. . . world Christianity offers a laboratory of pluralism and diversity where instead of faith and trust being missing or compromised, they remain intrinsic. You could not recognize world Christianity without the myriad tongues of praise and hope that also echo humanity’s hopes and dreams.
— Lamin Sanneh Whose Religion is Christianity?
Christianity as a World Religion (Global Christianity)
Center for the Study of Global Christianity (Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary)
"The Center for the Study of Global Christianity produces numerous resources for churches, denominations, NGOs, mission organizations, and academics."
Center for Global Christianity & Mission (Boston University)
The CGCM aspires to be a community of learners, researchers and doers who live out their missional callings through critical reflection, faithful witness, and thoughtful engagement with multiple cultures around the world.
World Council of Churches
"The World Council of Churches is a fellowship of churches which confess the Lord Jesus Christ as God and Saviour according to the scriptures, and therefore seek to fulfil together their common calling to the glory of the one God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit."
The Nagel Institute for the Study of World Christianity (Calvin College)
The Nagel Institute works to link Christian scholars worldwide in order to: Promote a deeper understanding of world Christianity; partner with study centers to strengthen Christian intellectual movements in the global south and east; provoke a reorientation of Christian thought in the North Atlantic region toward the concerns arising from world Christianity. This work is accomplished principally via research, publishing, and faculty development projects.
Overseas Ministries Study Center
"OMSC has been engaging in God’s mission with the world Christian movement through our signature three-fold ministry: Residential Study Program for Global Leaders, Research Scholars, and Artists from every nation and Christian tradition, the International Bulletin of Mission Research, and an Artist in Residence program."
Center for the Study of World Christianity (University of Edinburgh)
"The Centre for the Study of World Christianity (formerly, the Centre for the Study of Christianity in the Non-Western World) exists to advance high-quality scholarship in Christianity as a polycentric faith whose adherents are now far more numerous in the majority world than in Europe or North America."
Cambridge Center for Christianity Worldwide
"The Cambridge Centre for Christianity Worldwide is a research and teaching centre in Cambridge, England that encourages people of all faiths and none to engage with, encounter, and enquire about the global nature of Christianity in its historical development and in the contemporary world."
Oxford Centre for Mission Studies (OCMS)
The mission of the OCMS is "to advance study, education and research in God’s mission and to convene practitioners, scholars and leaders in creative and prophetic dialogue."
The Catholic Research Resources Portal, or "Catholic Portal," provides global, freely available access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives.
This project from Villanova University plans to make available digital content of Catholic materials including books, journals, papers, and manuscripts dealing with the Roman Catholic church in general, and in particular works created or published in the Americas. This collection is particularly helpful for the study of Catholicism in America.
Post-Reformation Digital Library
The Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research.
Center for Studies in the Wesleyan Tradition
Duke Divinity School's Center for Studies in the Wesleyan Tradition: The 'Research Resources' and 'Primary Text Collections' provide an excellent entry-point for Wesleyan studies.
Wesley Center for Applied Theology
Maintained at Northwest Nazarene College. Includes electronic versions of many works by John Wesley and other Holiness Tradition authors.
Into His Own: Perspective on the World of Jesus
This site offers a wealth of information about the social, political, and historical context in which Jesus and the early Christians lived. Maintained by Mahlon Smith at Rutgers University.
Early Christian Writings
"The most complete collection of documents from the first two centuries with translations and commentary. Includes the New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, and Church Fathers."
Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL)
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.
Reading Room Archives: Biblical-Theological Resources
Tyndale Seminary maintained a series of online "reading rooms" stocked with links and resources for diverse topics, including biblical studies, "missional church resources", spiritual formation, theology, Christian ethics, and the history of Christianity. The content is no longer being updated.
Dictionary of African Christian Biography (DACB)
The mission of the DACB continues to be “to collect, preserve, and make freely accessible biographical accounts and church histories – from oral and written sources – integral to a scholarly understanding of African Christianity.”
Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Christianity (BDCC)
The BDCC is an electronic database containing the essential biographical facts of Chinese and foreign Christian missionaries, church leaders, evangelists, and laity chiefly responsible for laying the foundations and advancing the growth of Chinese Christian communities and their influence in societies around the world. While the database is widely inclusive of time periods and faith traditions, the distinctive focus of the project is on the lesser-known Chinese Christians of the modern era (1800 to 1950).
Convocate Database (University of Notre Dame)
This database is a research tool for investigating the connections between international human rights and Catholic social teaching. It searches theological and legal documents simultaneously, returning results in such a way that users are able to compare these bodies of thought side by side. While the main focus is comparative research, the database also serves as an unparalleled resource for those interested more generally in documents from one or the other domain.
Korean Christianity (UCLA Online Archive)
"This English-language archive catalogues primary sources about Korean Christianity and its global connections, especially Protestant documents and photography in early modern and colonial Korea."
"The largest online digital library on applied ethics and theology for free."
GlobeTheoLib (Global Digital Library on Theology & Ecumenism)
"The Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism (GlobeTheoLib) is a multilingual online library offering access free of charge to full-text articles, journals, books and other resources on theology, intercultural and interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity. Participants also have the possibility to contribute their own documents to the library."
|Library of Congress
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.