Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom.
Though it cost all you have, get understanding.
Cherish her, and she will exalt you;
embrace her, and she will honor you.
She will give you a garland to grace your head
and present you with a glorious crown.
― Proverbs 4:7-9 (NIV)
This section of the Atla Websites on Religion LibGuide is dedicated to the "intersection" between faith and various topics of importance. Currently the topics covered are:
As time and collaborative efforts permit, more topics can be tackled. Some of the above topics may also be further expanded into their own page.
See the general links below for resources helpful for beginning research.
A site that claims to collect resources on controversial issues using a "Pro vs. Con" format. Several topics are of interest, including the death penalty, abortion, marriage equality, etc.
The ARDA (Association of Religion Data Archives)
"The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world."
Globethics contains e-books and articles for ethical and political discourse in a global perspective. This database is rich in Spanish, French and German resources in addition to English resources. Many of the these materials are official reports and primary resources from governmental research and NGOs.
Religion & Ethics Newsweekly (PBS)
"The Web site features individual show transcripts, streaming video of weekly reports, full transcripts of interviews with notable guests, related articles dealing with significant issues in religion and ethics news, a list of related resources and an online pressroom featuring downloadable versions of the program press kit, as well as detailed summaries of individual stories. Audio and video podcasts of the program are also available."
Index Theologicus (IxTheo)
The International Bibliography of Theology and Religious Studies is an index to articles, essays and books in religion and theology held by the University of Tűbingen Library.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.