Websites on Religion: Regional Resources

"This virtual archive of Korean Christianity is a home away from home for scholars and students in Korean Christianity. It aims to provide people like you, who are interested in Korean Christianity and its global connections, with primary sources of Korean Christianity, especially Protestant documents and images in early modern and colonial Korea. At the same time it introduces contemporary scholarship on the history of Korean Christianity with book reviews, recent articles, and bibliography." Maintained by Sung-Deuk Oak at UCLA.

A collection of links on Chinese religion, including popular religion Daoism, Confucianism, Buddhism and Christianity in China.

"PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. We monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics."

"The worldwide largest online library on Chinese Christianity"

Encyclopaedia Iranica benefits not only those who are interested in Persian life and culture but also students, specialists, and the educated general reader interested in a variety of academic disciplines. The disciplines represented include, but are not confined to: anthropology, archaeology, geography, art history, ethnology, sociology, economics, history of religion, philosophy, mysticism, history of science and medicine, Islamic history, botany, zoology, folklore, development of agriculture and industry, political science, international relations, and diplomatic history.

A large collection of (mostly) open access materials compiled by the Asian Studies Program and Religious Studies Department at Kenyon College.

A digital collection of the New Year's prints and deity images for ritual offerings assembled by Anne S. Goodrich in Beijing in 1931.

"Euro-Islam.info is an active network of researchers and scholars who conduct comparative research on Islam and Muslims in Europe and the USA and disseminate key information to politicians, media, and the public." Includes country profiles, bibliography, and other resources.

Full-text publications, including annual reports, CEC Assemblies, and other resources.

This site offers extensive statistical information about religious groups in Latin America, Spain, and Portugal. Maintained by Programa Latinoamericano de Estudios Sociorreligiosos (PROLADES)

An encyclopedia of religion in Latin America and the Caribbean. Created and Maintained by PROLADES (Programa Latinoamericano de Estudios Sociorreligiosos/
Latin American Socio-Religious Studies Program)

"Dedicated to being an accurate source of information on La Regla Lucumí for those learning the religion and other interested parties." This site offers information on Santeria, a religion of African origin found in certain parts of Latin America.

"...provides information, research, discussion, and analysis of religion in Latin America." Covers Christianity and some non-Western religious expressions.

"The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1935, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources."

"The RLS surveys more than 35,000 Americans from all 50 states about their religious affiliations, beliefs and practices, and social and political views."

"The U.S. Religion Census is your source for religious data at the county level. It reports the number of congregations in every U.S. county equivalent for each of 236 faith groups."

Includes megachurch research, research on Islam in the US, nondenominational churches and other topics related to religion in the United States.

"Faith Communities Today is a series of ongoing research surveys and practical reports about congregational life, conducted and published by the Cooperative Congregational Studies Partnership, a multi-faith group of religious researchers and faith leaders."

"...the Digital Atlas of American Religion presents ways for scholars to examine data at varying scales and with multiple dimensions. For studies using data from the US census, voting statistics, or any other spatially-referenced data, the tools permit researchers to group and map categories easily and in new ways or to aggregate data by user-defined classifications."

"The North American Jewish Data Bank is the central repository of scientifically collected information about North American Jewry. Its primary functions are to (1) acquire, archive, analyze and disseminate data sets that contribute to the social scientific understanding of the Jewish population, and (2) encourage utilization of its resources. It seeks in this way to improve the quality of research conducted about North American Jewry."

"The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world."

Documents covering Anglicanism in Polynesia, Melanesia and Papua New Guinea. "Project Canterbury is a free online archive of out-of-print Anglican texts and related modern documents."

Documents covering Anglicanism in Australia. "Project Canterbury is a free online archive of out-of-print Anglican texts and related modern documents."

Documents covering Anglicanism in New Zealand. "Project Canterbury is a free online archive of out-of-print Anglican texts and related modern documents."

An archived site explaining the Aboriginal phenomenon, 'Tjukurrpa' (The Dreaming).

"Global Voices is an international and multilingual community of bloggers, journalists, translators, academics, and human rights activists. Together, we leverage the power of the internet to build understanding across borders."