Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
He [Rabbi Tarfon] used to say: It is not your duty to finish the work, but neither are you at liberty to neglect it; If you have studied much Torah, you shall be given much reward. Faithful is your employer to pay you the reward of your labor; And know that the grant of reward unto the righteous is in the age to come.
― Pirkei Avot 2:16 (Sefaria.org)
See the excellent collection, "Judaism - Open Access Journals," at the University of Calgary's Religious Studies Web Guide.
This list below is an abbreviated list. See the above link for a full list as well and notes on what volumes are available in open access.
Berman Jewish DataBank
"Open access to hundreds of quantitative studies of North American and global Jewry."
American Jewish Yearbook
Full text of the American Jewish Year Book
from 1899 to the present. A basic search tool
is available for the Year Book
Jewish Population Estimates
Maintains the American Jewish Year Book's "tradition of publishing annual articles on the size and distribution of the American Jewish population."
Jewish Virtual Library (Vital Statistics Wing)
Contains statistics on anti-semitism, demography, Israel, terrorism, Israel Defense Forces, US-Israel bilateral cooperation, the Holocaust, and public opinion.
A Portrait of Jewish Americans (Pew Research Center)
"These are some of the findings of the new Pew Research Center survey, conducted Feb. 20-June 13, 2013, among a nationally representative sample of U.S. Jews. This is the most comprehensive national survey of the Jewish population since the 2000-2001 National Jewish Population Survey."
Bibliography of the Hebrew Book
"...includes most of the books, pamphlets and magazines printed in Hebrew, Yiddish, Ladino, Judeo-Arabic, and other Jewish languages, found in collections in Israel and abroad, starting from the beginning of Hebrew printing (or so in 1460) through 1960."
Database for the Analysis of Anonymous and Pseudepigraphic Jewish Texts of Antiquity
"This analytical database contains some 300 Profiles of works of Jewish antiquity in Hebrew, Aramaic, Greek and Latin, using the new descriptive framework introduced in A. Samely, P. Alexander, R. Bernasconi, R. Hayward, Profiling Jewish Literature in Antiquity (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013)."
Haifa Index to Hebrew Periodicals (IHP)
". . . a bibliographical database indexing articles published in periodicals, monographs and selected Israeli newspapers. . . . Access to some of the full texts requires additional journal subscription (JSTOR etc.)."
Index to Yiddish Periodicals
"...a bibliographical data base, which aims to record the materials published in 800 Yiddish newspapers and journals." Includes both a Hebrew and English interface.
Institute for Jewish Policy Research
"...specialises in researching the state of the contemporary Jewish communities in the UK and elsewhere in Europe. Our research aims to provide a better understanding of who Jews are and what they feel, think and do, in order to help Jewish organisations plan more efficiently and effectively for the future."
Kiryat Sefer (קרית ספר) - The National Bibliography of the State of Israel and of the Jewish People
Kiryat Sefer - The National Bibliography of the State of Israel and of the Jewish People (1925-2015). Database includes scans of all articles and reviews.
RAMBI (רמב"י) Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
RAMBI is a selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel.
Szold Database (The National Institute for Research in the Behavioral Scienes)
"...includes bibliographic information and abstracts of the tens of thousands of publications and studies on education and social sciences, written by Israeli researchers and published in Israel and abroad." Hebrew interface only.
See also "Judaism - Bibliographies and Indexes" at the University of Calgary's Religious Studies Web Guide.
Cambridge Digital Library (Hebrew Manuscripts)
High-quality images of halakhic, liturgical, poetic, and philosophical manuscripts.
Early Jewish Writings
"The most complete collection of Jewish documents from antiquity with translations, introductions, and links."
Holy Texts from Snunit (מאגר ספרות הקודש)
Full site in Hebrew. Includes Unicode text of the Tanakh, Mishnah, Tosefta, Babylonian and Jerusalem Talmuds, and Maimonides' Mishneh Torah
Internet Sacred Text Archive (Judaism)
Categories include: Tanakh, Talmud, Haggada, Kabbalah, Midrash, Haggadah, Prayer Books (Siddur), Ancient/Medieval texts, and Modern texts.
"Here you will find the Hebrew Bible (Tana"kh) and the RaMBaM's Complete Restatement of the Oral Law (Mishneh Torah)." Contains parallel Hebrew/English/French Tanakh and the Hebrew text of the Mishnah, Tosefta, and the Jerusalem and Babylonian Talmuds. Also provides a search tool with a Hebrew keyboard.
"...a free living library of Jewish texts and their interconnections, in Hebrew and in translation." Contains Hebrew text and many English translations of the Tanakh, Mishnah, Talmud, Midrash, etc.
See also the excellent collection, "Judaism - Sacred Texts," at the University of Calgary Religious Studies Web Guide.
Center for Online Judaic Studies (COJS)
The COJS compiles "the sources which make up the story of the Jewish people. The material encompasses primary sources, newspaper articles, artifacts, images, maps, videos, bibliographies, secondary sources and websites."
Internet Jewish History Sourcebook
Compiled by Paul Halsall at Fordham University. This 'sourcebook' compiles links and resources suitable for classroom use from the Internet Ancient History Sourcebook, Internet Medieval Sourcebook, and Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Internet Resources for the Study of Judaism and Christianity
A continually updated resource compiled by Jay C. Treat. "This page lists a number of sites on the Internet that are useful for the study of Judaism and Christianity. The list is necessarily partial, provisional, and even parochial. A casual glance will show how Penn-centered it is."
Jewish "Hot Sites"
Rabbi Jacob Richman has compiled a collection of sites related to Judaism. The collection is organized by categories from "Art" to "Yiddish".
The Jewish Guide to the Internet
A continually updated version of The Jewish Guide to the Internet by Diane Romm, this guide provides a well-organized and annotated collection of links.
Jewish Heritage Europe, "Websites and Institutions"
Resources compiled in several categories: Archives; Cemeteries; General (history, culture, heritage); Maps & Mapping; Museums; Photographic Images; Postcard Collections; Videos & Video Channels. Check individual country pages for region-specific resources.
Jewish Virtual Library
" The Jewish Virtual Library (JVL) is the most comprehensive online encyclopedia of Jewish history, politics and culture. With nearly 25,000 entries, the JVL is a one-stop shop for students of all ages interested in anything from anti-Semitism to Zionism."
Second Temple Synagogues
This site is devoted to the study of Second Temple Synagogues—that is, synagogues which existed prior to the Jerusalem Temple's destruction in year 70 of the Common Era. Presently, the site has an Image Gallery of Second Temple synagogue remains and inscriptions (over a hundred images), a page devoted to Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Second Temple Synagogues, a Literary Archive with quotations about the early synagogues from ancient sources, and a resource library containing more than a thousand links to both primary and secondary sources for the study of Judaism and Christianity in the Hellenistic and Roman periods.
"Yiddish Sources is a portal for anyone who is interested in Yiddish and Yiddish Studies. . . . Yiddish Sources is maintained by Gerben Zaagsma. The information on this website is arranged in three main sections: events, reference and research."
4 Enoch: The Online Encyclopedia of Second Temple Judaism, and Christian and Islamic Origins
"4 Enoch offers a comprehensive introduction to scholarly research in Second Temple Judaism and Christian Origins. . . . It includes biographies of scholars, as well as abstracts of scholarly works. . . from the early 16th century to the present. The Encyclopedia also includes fictional material (art, literature, music, cinema)."
The Historical Dictionary Project of the Academy of the Hebrew Language
Explores the history of words in the Hebrew Language through the textual analysis of biblical and later compositions. Interface in Hebrew, but English tutorials are available.
The Holocaust Encyclopedia
"The Holocaust Encyclopedia provides students, educators, leaders, and policymakers with readily available resources that help them challenge assumptions and develop critical thinking. It includes 850 articles in English."
The Holocaust Resource Center (Lexicon Entries)
An A-Z index of articles on "individuals, institutions, phenomenona, important sites, cities and events" related to the Holocaust.
Indexed contents of the 1st ed. of the Jewish Encyclopedia. Published 1901-1906, it does not cover modern Jewish history, but articles are still extremely helpful for topics from the 19th century and earlier.
Jewish English Lexicon
"...a collaborative database of distinctive words that are used in the speech or writing of English-speaking Jews. Think of it as the Wikipedia or Urban Dictionary of Jewish language."
Provides and introduction to Jewish languages and linguistics, along with related curricular materials and bibliographic resources.
Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia
"This encyclopedia seeks to make available to all who are interested in Jewish history and culture the varied accomplishments of Jewish women and their many contributions to the Jewish historical experience over the course of the past three millennia."
|Library of Congress
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.