Websites on Religion: Hinduism

An article by Edeltraud Clear in the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

A collection of bibliographies relating to Religion in South Asia.

This site presents articles on various aspects of Hindu belief.

"This journal is open to all bona fide scholars in Vedic Studies. It is monitored for style and content by the Editor-in-Chief. Our aim is to disseminate our work quickly."

Published by the Himalayan Academy, Hinduism Today is "affirming Sanatana Dharma and recording the modern history of a billion-strong global religion in renaissance." (Feb 1979 to present)

Full text 2001 to present

Full text 1975 to present.

Full text Nov 2013-Sep 2017

Full text 1988 to 2018

Full text 1952 to present

Full text 2010 to present

Full text 2017 to present

"This site is an attempt at providing an easy and structured online introduction to the philosophy of advaita vedAnta, as taught by SankarAcArya and his followers. It is not meant for religious propaganda. This website represents a serious attempt at exploring philosophical issues in advaita vedAnta, as handled by the leading philosophers themselves, and in the context of their times."

"I have come to light the lamp of Love in your hearts, to see that it shines day by day with added luster... I have no plan to attract disciples or devotees into my fold or any fold. I have come to tell you of this unitary faith, this spiritual principle, this path of Love, this virtue of Love, this duty of Love, this obligation to Love." This site is devoted to the teachings of Indian guru Sai Baba.

A substantial collection of electronic texts, including the Sri Guru Granth Sahib, Bhagavad Gita, and many monographs. This page is an archive of an older resource, and it has been replaced by a portal dedicated to South & Southeast Asian Studies at Columbia University.

"This website is an introduction to the Gaudiya Vaishnava tradition. The tradition, founded by Sri Krishna Chaitanya in the 16th century CE, is in many ways unique amidst the various bhakti-traditions, both ancient and modern, of India. Aside its profound philosophical treatises, it is well known for its developed aesthetic insights into the dynamics of the eternal loving sports of God."

"This page is devoted to introducing westerners to teachers from different Indian religious traditions. It consists of pictures and short life-stories of charismatic seekers, saints, teachers, and gurus from the 19th and 20th centuries who trace their religious origins to India. In addition, references will be given to help the reader learn more about these individuals."

This site features images, movies, and sounds relating to Indian culture, as well as informative essays.

A list of Internet resources, maintained by James Lochtefeld at Carthage College.

This site offers a variety of resources on Hinduism and India, such as Articles, Scriptures, Meditation, Forums, Videos, MP3 Songs, MP3 Lectures.

"Welcome to the Web site of information on Integral Yoga, a spiritual path founded by Sri Aurobindo and the Mother. This site includes introductions to the yoga and to the people and centers who aspire to its golden promise -- including the revolutionary experiments in south India known as the Ashram and Auroville."

"On this large Web site you will find yantra, mantra, tantra and other material relating to some of the different traditions; texts on the siddhas, gurus and yogis of the Natha sampradaya; much about kundalini, nadis, chakras; images of gods and goddesses; meditations and dharanas; an extensive bibliography, and original English translations as well as links to other sites." Maintained by Mike Magee.

"This award-winning site is growing and evolving, being modified and upgraded, on a regular basis. At the present moment it has 273 pages, 388 graphics (full-color, duotone, gray-scale and line-art), 2 audio clips and 8 animated illustrations. In this site, you will learn about the various techniques and teachings of Yoga and Vedanta. You will also learn about the different activities of the Sivananda Yoga Vedanta Centers such as the Yoga Teachers Training Course, Yoga Vacations, Residential, Work-study and Full-time staff programs."

26 min. "This video introduces The Bhagavad Gita, the most famous section of the great ancient Indian epic, the Mahabharata. Life and death, duty and desire are all explained by Krishna, the creator god."

This site offers: Vedas, Upanishads, Puranas, Other Primary Texts, Epics, Mahabharata, Ramayana, Bhagavad Gita, Vedanta, Later texts, Modern books.

"The Muktabodha Indological Research Institute is dedicated to the study, preservation, and dissemination of the philosophical and religious traditions of India. At the center of Muktabodha's vision is the understanding that these traditions are a unique and irreplaceable spiritual resource. By helping to conserve and develop this valuable resource, the Institute aims to make a significant contribution to the academic community and the world community at large."

"The Ramakrishna-Vivekananda Center of New York is an accredited branch of the Ramakrishna Order of India. It was incorporated in 1933 as a non-profit religious organization under the laws of New York State. The Center bases its teachings on the System of Vedanta, which combines both the religion and philosophy of the Hindus, especially as explained by Sri Ramakrishna (1836-1886), his wife and spiritual companion Holy Mother Sri Sarada Devi (1853-1920) and his disciple Swami Vivekananda (1863-1902) and demonstrated in their lives."

"This is the web site of the Religion in South Asia Section (RISA) of the American Academy of Religion (AAR). RISA participants are scholars interested in the academic study of the religious traditions of South Asia. RISA-L is the official email list of RISA. This page is designed to give RISA participants, RISA-L subscribers, and other scholars of religion in south Asia access to RISA-related material."