Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
May peace rule the universe; may peace rule in kingdoms and empires; may peace rule in states and in the lands of the potentates; may peace rule in the house of friends and may peace also rule in the house of enemies.
— Virchand Raghavji Gandhi
"The JAINpedia project was created by the Institute of Jainology (IoJ) after the successful 2006 publication of the Catalogue of the Jain Collection at the British Library. Launched at Buckingham Palace by His Royal Highness the Duke of Edinburgh and the Prime Minister of India, Dr Manmohan Singh, the book was co-authored by Professor Nalini Balbir."
Library of Original Jain Literature
This site offers texts on the Jain religion in Indian languages and in English translation.
Jainism: Principles, Tradition, and Practices
A well organized set of links to Internet resources relating to Jainism. Main headings: Jainism: Introduction; Directories & Lists; Vegetarianism & Ahimsa; Jain Texts; Jain Pilgrimage; Jain Images; Jainism in the Eyes of Others; Jain History: An Outline.
International Journal of Jaina Studies
"The Centre of Jaina Studies at SOAS established the International Journal of Jaina Studies (IJJS) to facilitate academic communication. The main objective of the journal is to publish research papers, monographs, and reviews in the field of Jain Studies in a form that makes them quickly and easily accessible to the international academic community, and to the general public."
Centre of Jaina Studies Newsletter
Published at the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London.
Centre of Jaina Studies
"The aim of the Centre of Jaina Studies is to promote the study of Jaina religion and culture by providing an interdisciplinary platform for academic research, teaching and publication in the field of Jaina Studies." Located at the University of London.
Institute of Jainology (IoJ)
"Institute of Jainology (IoJ) was established following the first International Jain Conference held in London in 1983, when the need for an organisation to coordinate Jain affairs internationally was recognized. It was registered as a Charitable Trust in 1986 and has since achieved several notable milestones in matters of government, inter-faith and national education amongst others."
Jain Data Base
"Jain Data Base and Jain BBS is a Computer Based Education and Information Service of Jain Study Center of North Carolina and the Federation of JAINA."
Jainism Global Resource Center (Jainworld.com)
Contains links to sacred texts and lectures. "Since 1996, Jainworld has been the most comprehensive and popular website on Jainism. This has been the result of tireless efforts and dedication by 500+ people from all walks of life and diverse belief systems representing different nationalities across the globe."
Requires registration. "The Jain eLibrary website is an online collection of Jain scriptures, Jain manuscripts, Jain dictionary, Jain encyclopedia, Jain articles, Jain magazines, and ancient and contemporary Jain books in English, Hindi, Gujarati, and other languages. It contains Shvetämbar Ägams, Digambar Shästras, Four Anuyogas, Commentary literature, Präkrit and Sanskrut literature, and ancient and modern literature representing all aspects of Jainism. It also includes the literature of various Jain sects. Catalogues of Jain manuscripts of various Jain libraries add to the diversity of this collection."
JAINA: Federation of Jain Associations in North America
This database is for research on Jains in North America and beyond. Holdings include digital copies of hand-written Shastras from the library of Digamber Jain Syadwad Mahavidyalya Varansi under the guidance of Shri Narendra Kumar Jain, President IDJO.
|Library of Congress
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.