Websites on Religion: Buddhism

"Established at the conclusion of the 1st Sakyadhita Conference in Bodhgaya, India, in 1987, the organization has almost 2000 members and friends in 45 countries around the world. Every two years an international conference is held to bring laywomen and nuns from different countries and traditions together to share their experiences and encourage projects to improve conditions for Buddhist women, especially in developing countries."

The Foundation for the Preservation of the Mahayana Tradition. Contains links to teaching, texts, prayers, mantras, etc.

Includes links to lectures on Zen Buddhism - "The Zen Studies Society is a Buddhist community dedicated to realizing and actualizing our true nature. Cultivating an atmosphere of respect, harmony, deep insight, and boundless compassion, we offer the simple yet profound teachings and practice of Zen Buddhism at our mountain monastery and our city temple under the auspices of ZSS."

"On this web site you can learn about and follow news of the Amida Order, an organically developing international communion for Pureland Buddhism for all who are inspired by the Buddha's message of peace, compassion, and personal and social transformation."

"The Bhavana Society is a community of monastics and lay people living according to the precepts and practices laid down by the Buddha, Siddhattha Gotama, over 2500 years ago. Located in rural West Virginia, the monastery and meditation center provides opportunities for people to come to organized retreats as well as personal retreats and personal visits of varying lengths."

Web site of the Insight Meditation Society and the Barre Center for Buddhist Studies.

"'The Innate Great Perfection' Is the Ultimate Teaching of the Non-Sectarian Practice Lineage of Tibetan Buddhism."

"The Institute of Buddhist Studies is a seminary and graduate school affiliated with the Graduate Theological Union and associated with the Buddhist Churches of America. IBS offers a systematic educational program specializing in Contemporary Shin Buddhist Studies and culminating in a fully accredited Master of Arts degree which is jointly administered with the GTU (Berkeley, California)."

"The IRIZ was established to promote basic research on Zen Buddhism, support interdisciplinary research in related fields, train scholars in Zen studies, issue publications relating to Zen, organize research materials, and encourage international scholarly exchange."

"Reference is the equivalent of a reference room in a traditional library, where users can find bibliographical references, consult dictionaries, and so forth. It contains standard reference resources including bibliographies, encyclopedias, dictionaries (including a place dictionary), web links to other digital resources, timelines, and rosters of contemporary people and organizations involved in the field."

"Nitartha International, with the gracious permission of Rangjung Yeshe Publications, is proud to provide online access to the Rangjung Yeshe Tibetan-English Dictionary. From this site you can rapidly search 85,000 Tibetan terms for their English translations."

Published in the Journal of Buddhist Ethics 2 (1995), while out of date, it provides a good launching point to issues of Buddhism and medical ethics.

This site is a substantial guide to online Buddhist scriptures and bibliographies. It contains more than 4,000 full text articles on various topics. Maintained at National Taiwan University.

"The Tibetan and Himalayan Digital Library was founded on March 1, 2000 in conjunction with the University of Virginia Library and the Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities. It provides an integrated environment for digital publication of many diverse projects whose separate administrations remain decentralized and autonomous. As such, the Library overall is run by an international team of scholars, and reflects a consortium of many different universities and private organizations across the world."

"The Asian Classics Input Project is dedicated to locating, cataloging, digitally preserving, and disseminating rapidly disappearing Tibetan and Sanskrit manuscripts that hold the philosophical, cultural, and religious heritage of endangered cultures dating back more than 2000 years. The Asian Classics Input Project works to preserve these texts containing the great ideas of the Eastern half of humanity and to make these books and ideas accessible to the world at large."

"The story of a cruel and ruthless king who converted to Buddhism and thereafter established a reign of virtue."

The Sri Lanka Tripitaka Project is a public domain electronic version of the Pali Canon. It is presented here in in its raw, unformatted form.

"The Tibetan and Himalayan Digital Library was founded on March 1, 2000 in conjunction with the University of Virginia Library and the Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities. It provides an integrated environment for digital publication of many diverse projects whose separate administrations remain decentralized and autonomous. As such, the Library overall is run by an international team of scholars, and reflects a consortium of many different universities and private organizations across the world."

"Access to Insight is an Internet website dedicated to providing accurate and reliable information concerning the practice and study of Theravada Buddhism as it has been handed down to us through both the written word of the Pali Canon and the living example of the Sangha."

"BuddhaNet is a non-sectarian organisation, offering its services to all Buddhist traditions. It aims to facilitate a significant Buddhist presence in the ever-expanding realm of computer communications technology, applying this technology to helping make the Buddha's teachings freely available to all."

This site provides information about Pure Land Buddhism in Japan.

Compiled by Ron Epstein of the SanFrancisco State U. Philosophy Dept.

"A collaborative gathering of information related to Buddhism in China between 1850 and 1950 CE." This site offers information about biographies, institutions, periodicals, schools of thought, etc.