Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Odomankoma / He created the thing
‘Hewer out’ Creator / He created the thing
What did he create? / He created Order
He created Knowledge / He created Death
As its quintessence
― J. B. Danquah, The Akan Doctrine of God, p. 70
Note: The Pluralism Project does not have an entry for "African Traditional Religions." Several of the resources listed in the Afro-Caribbean main page can be helpful.
African Traditional Religions
African Traditional Religions Photo Collection (Boston University)
"This multimedia website showcases the photography and work of Dr. M.L. Daneel. His research among the Shona people of Southern Africa in the 1960s through the 1990s has yielded a wealth of photographs and publications documenting African initiated churches and traditional religions. This website makes those photographs and publications available online."
Africa South of the Sahara -- Religion
A substantial collection of annotated links on African traditional religion, Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and other religious topics. Maintained at Stanford University.
African Religion (Internet Sacred Text Archive)
"This section has texts on the traditional spirituality of Sub-Saharan Africa, as well as their descendants in the New World."
Guide on Igbo Culture and Language
"This Igbo website provides simple and easy-to-read insights in Igbo language and Igbo culture. Not only does the guide describe the wide variety of the traditions in this part of Nigeria, attention is also paid to normal day-to-day facets of life in the town and villages. The site contains a complete guide on Igbo language, highlighted in sample conversations including native audio clips, includes an Igbo English dictionary and explains the basic Igbo grammar structure."
G.I.Jones Photographic Archive of Southeastern Nigerian Art and Culture
"This site is a research resource. It was designed to make these photographs available to people who have a personal or professional interest in the art of Southeastern Nigeria. The limited information provided reproduces the notes written by Jones on the photos. Jones published the some of the photographs with additional documentation." Archived October 15, 2008
|Library of Congress
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.