Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The corpus of open access scholarly resources in religion and theology is continually growing. However, individual resources are often scattered online in various educational institutions, publishers, and repositories. Key open access directories are essential for finding these sources and keeping up with new materials.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
OAJI (Open Academic Journals Index)
"Open Academic Journals Index (OAJI) is a full-text database of open-access scientific journals. . . . Our mission is to develop an international platform for indexing the scientific journals of open access."
ROAD: the Directory of Open Access scholarly Resources
ROAD provides free access to the Open Access subset of the ISSN Register, comprised of bibliographic records of journals, monographic series, conference proceedings and academic repositories.
OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held. Tools and support enable both repository administrators and service providers to share best practice and improve the quality of the repository infrastructure.
Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL)
The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
GlobeTheoLib (Global Digital Library on Theology & Ecumenism)
"The Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism (GlobeTheoLib) is a multilingual online library offering access free of charge to full-text articles, journals, books and other resources on theology, intercultural and interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity. Participants also have the possibility to contribute their own documents to the library."
"The largest online digital library on applied ethics and theology for free."
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks)
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
Dissertations & Theses
EBSCO Open Dissertations
OpenDissertations.org is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discoverability of ETD research.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world—from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.