Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What good is it, my brothers and sisters, if someone claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save them? Suppose a brother or a sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to them, 'Go in peace; keep warm and well fed,' but does nothing about their physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.
― James 2:14-17 (NIV)
Resources on Economic Development
Food for the Hungry
"In response to God's call, and compelled by the love of Christ, Food for the Hungry goes to the hard places – places darkened by poverty, war and injustice – to bring hope and help to children, families and communities in the most impoverished countries around the world."
World Hope International
This organization does work in disaster relief, economic development, education, and health.
"World Vision is a Christian humanitarian organization dedicated to working with children, families and their communities worldwide to reach their full potential by tackling the causes of poverty and injustice."
"Accord is a catalyst for learning, collaboration and building Christ-centered unity around the shared vision of eliminating poverty. Accord serves Christian organizations and churches involved in this vision to achieve the highest standards, principles and effectiveness in relief and development."
Cross International Catholic Outreach
"Cross International Catholic Outreach's priority is to help 'the poorest of the poor.' Our ministry began in Haiti, the poorest country in the Western Hemisphere and home to some of the most destitute people in our modern world. Efforts have since grown to reach those suffering extreme poverty in other Caribbean countries as well as countries throughout Africa, Asia, and Latin America."
Ecumenical Advocacy Alliance
"The Ecumenical Advocacy Alliance is a broad ecumenical network for international cooperation in advocacy on global trade and HIV and AIDS. More than 85 churches and church-related organizations have joined the Alliance by committing themselves to 'speak out with one voice against injustice, to confront structures of power, practices and attitudes which deprive human beings of dignity and to offer alternative visions based on the Gospel.'"
"MAP International promotes the Total Health of people living in the world’s poorest communities by partnering to: Provide essential medicine; Promote community health development; Prevent and mitigate disease, disaster and other health threats."
Center on Faith in Communities
"The Center on Faith in Communities seeks to inspire, educate, equip, and resource the Christian community for the work of mercy and justice among the poor."
"The ACT Alliance works towards a world community where all God’s creation lives with dignity, justice, peace and full respect for human rights and the environment. Members of the alliance work together for positive and sustainable change in the lives of people affected by poverty and injustice through coordinated and effective humanitarian, development and advocacy work. We work with and for people of all faiths and none."
This Center, founded by Fred Craddock, focuses on development work in Appalachia, as well as offering preaching workshops.
Mennonite Central Committee
"MCC seeks to demonstrate God's love by working among people suffering from poverty, conflict, oppression and natural disaster. MCC serves as a channel for interchange by building mutually transformative relationships. MCC strives for peace, justice and the dignity of all people by sharing our experiences, resources and faith in Jesus Christ."
"As the humanitarian arm of the National Association of Evangelicals (NAE), World Relief equips evangelical churches to minister to hurting people's physical, emotional and spiritual needs. Our innovative ministries focus on church-centered healthcare, income generation, agricultural assistance, refugee care and emergency relief."
Salvation Army International Home Page
"This website features the international mission and services of The Salvation Army through its International Headquarters in London, England."
International Orthodox Christian Charities
"In response to a need expressed by members of our Orthodox Christian community, International Orthodox Christian Charities, Inc. (IOCC) was established in March 1992 as the official international humanitarian organization of the Standing Conference of Canonical Orthodox Bishops in the Americas."
"Franciscans International is a non-governmental organisation with General Consultative status at the UN, uniting the voices of Franciscan brothers and sisters from around the world. We operate under the sponsorship of the Conference of the Franciscan Family and serve all Franciscans and the global community by bringing spiritual, ethical, and Franciscan values to the United Nations and international organisations."
Catholic Relief Services
"Catholic Relief Services represents the US Catholic community by helping people in more than 80 countries around the world. Our relief and development programs uphold the dignity of the human person and recognize that we are united into one human family."
Bread for the World
"Bread for the World is a collective Christian voice urging our nation’s decision makers to end hunger at home and abroad. By changing policies, programs and conditions that allow hunger and poverty to persist, we provide help and opportunity far beyond the communities in which we live."
Collaboration Hub at GrantSpace.org
"The Collaboration Hub database includes the Nonprofit Collaboration Database, a comprehensive, searchable collection of 650+ profiles on four types of collaborations: back-office consolidation, joint programming, mergers, and alliances."
Migration Information Source - Migration Policy Institute
"The nonpartisan Migration Policy Institute seeks to improve immigration and integration policies through authoritative research and analysis, opportunities for learning and dialogue, and the development of new ideas to address complex policy questions." See links under "Research & Initiatives."
"NationMaster compiles statistics from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD"
Project on Religion and Economic Change
". . . to evaluate the effect of religion on economies around the world at the national, community, and individual levels. . . PREC is unique in its scope and design. Our data sets, based on missionary documents, permit an unprecedented look at the cumulative effect of religious influence on economies over 190 years and in every non-Western society."
UNdata: A World of Information
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) offers numerous databases, tables and glossaries covering a wide range of themes.
World Development Indicators (The World Bank)
"The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates"
World Faiths Development Dialogue
The World Faiths Development Dialogue explores "how links between faith leaders and organizations and development institutions might be enhanced. A missing link in the development business has all too often been the role of religions, both as organizations deeply involved in poor communities, and across countries and regions, and as a moral voice helping to direct and calibrate the purpose and design of anti-poverty interventions."
Christian Journal for Global Health
"A peer-reviewed, scholarly and multidisciplinary journal on global health policy and practice, promoting evidence-based and thoughtful analysis on effective and innovative approaches to global health from an integrated Christian perspective."
World Development Report
"The World Bank’s World Development Report, published annually since 1978, is an invaluable guide to the economic, social, and environmental state of the world today. Each report provides in-depth analysis and policy recommendations on a specific and important aspect of development—from agriculture, the role of the state, transition economies, and labor to infrastructure, health, the environment, and poverty. Through the quality and timeliness of the information it provides, the report has become a highly influential publication that is used by many multilateral and bilateral international organizations, national governments, scholars, civil society networks and groups, and other global thought leaders to support their decision-making processes. This corporate flagship undergoes extensive internal and external review and is one of the key outputs of the World Bank's Development Economics unit."
Article: "Religion and development: The rise of a bibliography"
"This article endeavours to evidence the extraordinary rise of religion and development as a subject field by presenting a chronological bibliography of the literature that has been published, especially since the early to mid-2000s. By way of introduction and orientation, the authors firstly touch upon existing explanations for the extraordinary new interest in religion and development as a subject field; secondly they comment briefly on the ongoing scholarly endeavour to develop the subject field; and thirdly provide a more pertinent statement about the meaning and purpose of compiling the bibliography and the selection criterion applied towards this endeavour. It is argued that the bibliography constitutes a comprehensive resource that could strengthen and inform ongoing research in the subject field across topical issues and themes, from a religious, social science and theological perspective."
Strengthening the evidence for faith-inspired health engagement in Africa
The first volume in the series focuses on assessing the role and market share of faith-inspired providers and on assessing the extent to which they are involved in and benefit from public-private partnerships. The second volume focuses on the satisfaction of users with faith-inspired providers and their comparative nature versus public and private secular providers. The third volume in the series focuses on ways to 'map' (in the different uses of that terminology) faith-inspired providers, and on assessment of their cost for patients and the extent to which they succeed in reaching the poor.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.