Digitizing Collections: Digital Collection Platforms

CollectionBuilder is an open source tool for creating digital collection and exhibit websites that are driven by metadata and powered by modern static web technology.

CONTENTdm is a digital collection management system consisting of a server on which content is stored, a web-based content discovery interface and tools to upload and manage the content. CONTENTdm also offers a hosting service, whereby users store materials on OCLC servers.

DSpace is an open source repository software package typically used for creating open access repositories for scholarly and/or published digital content.

Hyku is a repository application for managing cultural heritage content.

Open-source software for managing and discovering digital assets

Omeka is a free, open-source content management system for online digital collections. As a web application, it allows users to publish and exhibit cultural heritage objects, and extend its functionality with themes and plugins.

Digital asset manager and content management system to display your collections. (Pricing based on file storage size).

Wax is a minimal computing project for producing digital exhibitions focused on longevity, low costs, and flexibility.

Digital collection related tutorials from CONTENTdm

Bridge2Hyku is an IMLS-funded grant project to build software and documentation for migrating to Hyku

provides hosting for digital collections as well as metadata only.

list of hosting providers for DSpace

hosting of a digital repository in the Hyku platform.

This is the hosted version of Omeka

Digital asset manager and content management system to display your collections. (Pricing based on file storage size).