Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digitizing Collections: Home

A guide for digitizing collections for access and preservation.

Workflow

  1. Planning 
  2. Selection
  3. Digitizing materials
  4. Processing files, creating master and access files
  5. Metadata creation or re-purposing
  6. Digital preservation of master files
  7. Presentation of access files in an online content management platform

Introduction

What is a digital collection?

"A digital collection consists of digital objects that are selected and organized to facilitate their discovery, access, and use. Objects, metadata, and the user interface together create the user experience of a collection"  (from NISO Framework for Building Good Digital Collections)

What makes a good digital collection? A good collection ...

  • is created according to an explicit collection development policy
  • is described so that a user can discover characteristics of the collection
  • is curated
  • is broadly available and avoids unnecessary impediments to use
  • respects intellectual property rights
  • has mechanisms to supply usage data
  • is interoperable
  • is sustainable over time

General Resources

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.