A work from the Ade Bethune Collection at St. Catherine University. Used with the kind permission of the St. Catherine University Archives and Special Collections.
From St. Catherine University. A selection of Ade Bethune's original brush and ink drawings, created for the Catholic Worker newspaper and other publications, as well as 200 clip art graphics from the book Eye Contact with God Through Pictures, encompassing the seasons of the Church year and various saints.
From St. Catherine University. These writings are articles and pamphlets written by Bethune.
Alfred Hamy’s Jesuit Portrait Gallery
From Marquette University. Raynor Memorial Libraries has digitized Galerie Illustrée de la Compagnie de Jésus (Paris: 1893) in order to improve access to this cornerstone collection of Jesuitica. Staff at the John J. Burns Library at Boston College graciously contributed an assortment of digital scans, allowing for the complete presentation of Alfred Hamy's seminal work. The gallery contains 405 engravings of notable Jesuits from the 16th century to the 19th century.
Bishop Charles Francis Buddy's Scrapbooks
From the University of San Diego. Bishop Buddy’s scrapbooks were compiled by his sister, Mrs. Daniel Redmond. These scrapbooks document the early years of Bishop Buddy’s tenure as the first bishop of the Diocese of San Diego.
Bureau of Catholic Indian Missions Collection
From Marquette University. This collection contains over 1,800 images of Native Americans and related Catholic churches, schools, clergy, and religious from across the United States. Most were submitted to The Indian Sentinel as illustrations. A few images from the Sacred Heart Franciscan Records and the Walter Bernard Hunt Collection are also included.
Catholic Church Extension Society Photograph Collection
From Loyola University of Chicago. The Catholic Church Extension Society (CCES) Photograph Collection highlights the various activities of the CCES during the first half of the 20th century. You can see photos from these categories:
Catholic Church Extension Society Chapel Car Collection
Catholic Church Extension Society Motor Chapel Collection
Catholic Church Extension Society Chapel Boat Collection (Lousiana)
Catholic Church Extension Society Chapel Boat Collection (United States)
Catholic Church Extension Society Unidentified Photographs Collection
Catholic Educational Exhibit, World’s Columbian Exposition, Chicago
From the Catholic University of America. Consists of 50 photographs documenting the building, hall, and alcoves where Catholic educational institutions displayed objects and printed material from 1892-1893 during the World's Columbian Exposition in Chicago, Illinois.
Catholic Peace Fellowship Bulletin, 1965-1978
From the University of Notre Dame. Records of the Catholic Peace Fellowship, one of several Catholic peace collections in the University of Notre Dame Archives, include Manuscripts of talks and articles, organizational material for protest activities, newspaper and magazine clippings, press statements, photographs, and letters, with correspondence with Daniel and Philip Berrigan, Thomas Merton, James Forest, Dorothy Day, Thomas Cornell, George McGovern, and Robert F. Kennedy. The CPF published a bulletin, and we have issues dating from 1965 to 1978 available here.
Catholic Sisters International
From the University of Dayton. This is a collection of dolls dressed as nuns from religious orders active primarily in the United States.
Catholic Theological Union on the Internet Archive
From the Catholic Theological Union. These items were digitized through the CARLI consortium, and include historical materials on religious orders and U.S. Catholic history.
From Villanova University. This collection makes available digital content of Catholic materials including books, journals, papers, and manuscripts.
From Loyola Marymount University. Catholicism in Los Angeles offers a unique look into Los Angeles history and its rich Roman Catholic roots. Focusing on the themes of education and social justice, and include texts and photographs related to reformers and reform movements, and influential early families. Materials from the Workman Family Papers and the Dockweiler Family Papers were digitized, including those detailing the life of social activist Mary Julia Workman and her contributions to education in Los Angeles. The Dockweiler family is a Roman Catholic family long distinguished in Los Angeles civic, legal, and social life.
Chapel of the Immaculate Conception
From Rosemont College. The Chapel of Immaculate Conception on Rosemont's campus was completed in 1941. This collection covers the years of of planning and execution by two Presidents in office, Mother Mary Ignatius Carroll and Mother Mary Cleophas Foy. Materials include correspondence; financial records; building specifications; photographs and news clippings. The Chapel is notable because it's one of only 2 chapels in the US whose stained glass windows depict only women (except for Jesus and Saint Joseph.)
Christopher Dawson (1889-1970) was an English Catholic intellectual and author of books, articles, and scholarly monographs on the relation of religion and culture and on the Christian sources for the development of western civilization. His intellectual interests were remarkably comprehensive and covered a wide range of historical periods and cultural contexts. During his career he was a Gifford lecturer, the first recipient of the Chauncey Stillman Chair of Roman Catholic Studies at Harvard University (1958-1962) and editor of the Dublin Review. This digital collection features a selection of materials from the Christopher Dawson Papers.
Contributions from Augustinian Theologians and Scholars
From Villanova University. This collection makes available digital content of Catholic materials including books, journals, papers, and manuscripts.
From the Philadelphia Archdiocesan Historical Research Center. Elizabeth Ann Seton Letters, 1799-1818. This small collection includes letters from Elizabeth Ann Seton to Matthias and Joseph O'Conway. Matthias, a prominent Philadelphia especially within the Catholic community, was a the father of Cecilia O'Conway, Philadelphia's first nun and the first woman to join Seton's order, the Sisters of Charity. The correspondence is personal in nature and relates to several members of the O'Conway family. These materials are owned by the American Catholic Historical Society and maintained at the Philadelphia Archdiocesan Historical Research Center, 100 E. Wynnewood Rd. Wynnewood, PA 19096.
First Vatican Council Photograph Album
From the Catholic University of America. This collection consists of a leather-bound album containing 30 pages of carte de visite albumen prints. This album features prints of Pope Pius IX, and 730 cardinals, patriarchs, primates, archbishops, bishops, and abbots who attended the Vatican Council I from 1869-1870.
From St. Norbert College. 10 volume set of diaries of Fr. Maximilian Gartner from 1846-1853.
Gumberg Library Digitized Book Collection
From Duquesne University. This is a link to the ever-growing collection of books digitized from the Gumberg Library. A large portion of them are on Catholic subjects.
