Introducing the Catholic Portal
The Catholic Research Resources Portal, or "Catholic Portal," provides global, freely available access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials on Catholics and Catholicism in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives. Formats of materials found in the Portal include manuscripts, books, ephemera, photographs, and artifacts of interest. Portal records identify the owning institutions for non-digital resources and, where the resources exist in a digital format, link directly to the digital resource. The Portal is a core component of the mission of the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA).
The CRRA has identified twelve primary collecting themes of particular interest and importance on significant aspects of the Catholic tradition. See below for a complete list of the collecting themes, including brief descriptions of them. These themes are intended to encourage contribution of relevant institutional resources, but are not intended to be prescriptive.
The CRRA has identified twelve primary collecting themes of particular interest and importance:
- Catholic education: Relates to all levels of education (elementary school through university) administered by a Catholic organization. It may also include religious instruction, pre-school, and after-school care if it is sponsored by a Catholic institution.
- Catholic intellectual life: Concerns the Catholic intellectual tradition, specifically scholarship in all academic disciplines which is informed by both faith and reason.
- Catholic literary figures: Includes works by and about Catholic authors in all eras.
- Catholic liturgy and devotion: Refers to works by and about Catholic worship, prayer, and devotional practices.
- Catholic missions: Involves Catholic missionary activities in all countries and eras with a special emphasis on the Americas.
- Catholic social action: Relates to action by Catholic organizations and individuals based upon Catholic teachings on social justice. Issues include the alleviation of poverty, recognition of human dignity, and working for the common good.
- Catholicism and citizenship: Pertains broadly to the relationship between religion and national or ethnic identity.
- Diocesan collections, including papers of bishops: Encompasses records, documents, and publications, as well as individual parish histories and records.
- Men's religious orders: Includes papers, publications, and archival material by and about Catholic religious institutes, orders, or communities of men.
- Peace building: Relates to Catholic individuals and organizations involved in conflict prevention and reconciliation to build a sustainable peace.
- Vatican II: Addresses collections of archival material generated by Vatican II, as well as its impact and legacy in the form of scholarly works, historical accounts, and critical works.
- Women's religious orders: Includes papers, publications, and archival material by and about Catholic religious institutes, orders, or communities of women.
