Welcome to this subject guide designed to quickly link Catholic Portal users to digital collections of religious art found on the Internet. It also provides links that search the Catholic Portal for books and archival materials on related topics, and to Church documents on the relation of art and the Christian faith.
Click the title of a collection to visit its website.
Enjoy!
From St. Johns University. Arca Artium, “Ark of the Arts”, developed from the working collection and inspirational habitat of Frank Kacmarcik Obl.S.B. (1920-2004), teacher, liturgical designer, graphic artist, typographer, and calligrapher. Beyond the significant contributions he made to these areas of endeavor during a career spanning more than sixty years, Frank Kacmarcik carefully shaped his personal collection to become a resource for others.
From St. Catherine University. A selection of Ade Bethune's original brush and ink drawings, created for the Catholic Worker newspaper and other publications, as well as 200 clip art graphics from the book Eye Contact with God Through Pictures, encompassing the seasons of the Church year and various saints.
Virginia Gaertner Broderick Art
From Loyola University Chicago. Virginia Gaertner Broderick is one of the most well-known and influential religious artists of the 20th Century. Her artwork has been featured in various publications, exhibits, auctions, and can be seen in churches across America.
From the University of San Francisco. Selected prints, drawings, photographs, maps and other graphic materials from special collections, including over 300 prints and drawings by Eric Gill, the British sculptor, typeface designer, stone-cutter and print-maker.
These are a collection of images conceptualizing Mary, the mother of Christ.
These are bas-reliefs by Antonio de Oteiza representing facets of the Marianist vision and spirit .
Packard & Butler Lithograph Collection
From Villanova University. This is a collection of Catholic church lithographs by the Philadelphia lithography firm of Packard and Butler (later Packard, Butler and Partridge), There are over 400 prints of interior or exterior views of Catholic churches throughout the United States and parts of Canada.
Chinese Catholic-Themed Paintings
From Notre Dame University. A digital exhibit of thirty prints, made between 1939 and 1941 by Fu Jen Catholic University of Peking (CUP), from the original paintings that were commissioned by Rev. Thomas Megan, S.V.D., Prefect Apostolic of Xinxiang, Henan Province, and painted by Wang Suda, an artist trained at Fu Jen CUP.
Religious Artifacts Collection
From Seton Hall University. The Religious artifacts collection contains images of chalices, ciborium, cruets, and other objects from various collections of The Monsignor Field Archives & Special Collections Center. The project was originally conceived with the Teaching Learning and Technology Center of Seton Hall University and the digitization of the materials was done by them.
From Regis University. The Santo Collection includes over 900 items and is housed at Dayton Memorial Library on the Denver (Lowell) campus. Father Thomas J. Steele, who retired as a Regis College faculty member in 1997, assembled the collection from the mid-1960s until his death in 2010, and the collection continues to grow.
Christus, Pfarkirche, Saint Pierre de Neuilly. Photo by Reinhardhauke. CC BY-SA 3.0. Source Wikimedia Commons
Holy Cards
Holy cards in the Catholic tradition are small, religious pictures roughly the size of a playing card. The reverse sometimes contains a prayer or other devotional text. These cards, which typically depict a Catholic saint or religious scene, are often blessed by priests for the use by the faithful. The creation, circulation, and use of these cards is an important part of the material culture of Roman Catholics.
DePaul University Holy Card Collection
Church Documents
Search the Catholic Portal
Click on a link below to find all items under that subject in the Catholic Portal
Eric Gill Collection
