WELCOME TO NYATLA
The New York Area Theological Library Association is a group of specialized libraries in metropolitan New York who support interlibrary cooperation in the field of religion and theology. Formed in 1977 the associations meets regularly and conducts its affairs under a constitution and bylaws.
In memoriam Ruth Tonkiss Cameron
I'm writing with the sad news that Ruth Tonkiss Cameron, the Burke Library's Archivist for nearly 20 years until her retirement in 2016, passed away on Saturday after a long illness. Ruth's passion for the Burke's archives was formidable, and her expertise an enormous benefit to researchers and colleagues alike. Ruth was deeply committed helping scholars and students from near and far. Her extensive knowledge of the contexts of the collections -- historical, cultural, theological -- and of the collections themselves, enabled her to provide insightful support to countless archival researchers over the years. Those of us who were fortunate to work with her will recall her profound dedication to preserving the sources and stories in the archives and sharing them with others. I personally recall the many occasions when she cheerfully and enthusiastically made extraordinary efforts to be of help to researchers, some of whom were not able to visit to the Burke in person.
Among her many accomplishments at the Burke was developing and expanding the renowned Archives of Women in Theological Scholarship collections, as well as the archives and records of Union Theological Seminary. She also worked to preserve, process, and expand the Burke's celebrated Missionary Research Library archives. Her many good endeavors at the Burke have left a rich and enduring legacy for present and future generations of scholarship and learning.
As we mourn the passing of our gifted colleague, we remember and celebrate her life and her many wonderful contributions to the Burke and beyond. May she rest in peace.
(Kindly shared by Matthew Baker)
Member Information
