LibGuides: Catholic Charismatic Renewal: Home

Introductory Articles

Reference Work

Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements
Call Number: Available on Internet Archive

Publication Date: 1988

Foundational Sources

Acts of the Apostles, Chapter 2 (New American Bible)
Catechism of the Catholic Church
- Chapter 3 "I Believe in the Holy Spirit"
Documents of the Second Vatican Council

In the Beginning...

Starting in 1895, St. Elena Guerra writes to Pope Leo XIII about increasing among the faithful devotion to and worship of the Holy Spirit

Pope Leo's Responses

It Started on the "Duquesne Weekend" (April 1967)

Participants were requested to read these sources before the retreat

The Venue

The Ark & the Dove

Personal Testimony

Videos

Additional Texts

Vatican Sources on the Renewal and on the Holy Spirit

Papal Quotes on Catholic Charismatic Renewal
Popes Speak to the Renewal
Encyclicals on the Holy Spirit
Malines Documents (1974-1987)
“In the Malines Documents, you have a guide, a reliable path to keep you from going astray.”
— Pope Francis
Pope Francis' Homilies on the Holy Spirit
Pope Francis Reflects on the Work and Power of the Holy Spirit
A New Pentecost? and Other Online Books by Leon Joseph Cardinal Suenens
The Malines Documents can also be found here.

Find Magazine and Journal Articles

If you are a student or faculty member at a college or university, your library may subscribe to the religion and theology databases below. These would be the best places to go looking for magazine and journal articles on the Catholic Charismatic Renewal

Atla Religions Database
Religion Database (ProQuest)
Religious and Theological Abstracts

Selected Books On Internet Archive

All the books in this box are available to read for free on Internet Archive. However, you need to sign up for a free Internet Archive account to use them